Adding exsisting hosts

So I have a Foreman master setup. I can provision hosts into my ESX cluster
fine with no problems.

From the Foreman console, I can see VMs I created previously. However I can
not associate these VMs into the Foreman console.

I have taken a few of them and pointed them to the new puppetmaster (my
Foreman server), and while they pickup their catalogs just fine, they do
not show up in the managed hosts tab in Foreman.

What am I doing wrong…

> So I have a Foreman master setup. I can provision hosts into my ESX cluster
> fine with no problems.
>
> From the Foreman console, I can see VMs I created previously. However I can
> not associate these VMs into the Foreman console.
Whats the foreman console you talk of? is it another project? :wink:
>
> I have taken a few of them and pointed them to the new puppetmaster (my
> Foreman server), and while they pickup their catalogs just fine, they do not
> show up in the managed hosts tab in Foreman.

since 1.3.x we support merging them, under compute resources edit
pages, you would find associate vms button that will merge existing
vms to existing hosts in foreman.

Ohad

··· On Thu, Nov 28, 2013 at 8:34 AM, Robert Vernon wrote: > > What am I doing wrong... > > -- > You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups > "Foreman users" group. > To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an > email to foreman-users+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com. > To post to this group, send email to foreman-users@googlegroups.com. > Visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/foreman-users. > For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.

Morning.

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

Yes I do see the associate VMs tab in the Computer resources. Here is what
I get in the logs when I try using it on a VM.

Started PUT
"/compute_resources/1-vcenter/vms/52f477cd-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx/associate"