Foreman and Katello's Javascript Ecosystem - What the Flux?

Ok first, big disclaimer here, I’m arriving on the scene quite late, and I know that JS in Foreman/Katello has a long and winding history. Also, I’m fairly new to React and Redux but have been reading up and attending talks/events around it. Probably lots of these ideas are coming from Thinking in Redux. Please correct me if I’m misinformed about anything.

I noticed some concerning things about our Javascript, namely the new React and Redux parts:

1. Thunk - this is a pretty big issue IMO. It goes against the design patterns Redux is based on, namely event sourcing and Command Query Responsibility Segregation (CQRS).

** In short, event sourcing means that the sequence of events are the golden record, and the state doesn’t matter (think balance = sum(transactions) if you have an issue with your balance, your bank will look through your transaction history to see if the balance is correct).

** CQRS aims to separate completely the parts of code that write state from the things that read the state.

Thunk is redux middleware that allows redux actions to return functions, allowing actions to do ‘stuff’ other than logging their action type and triggering other actions (I know it sounds like actions should do something, but think of them more as events and that ‘something happened’). If we want to react to actions, it’s clear from the redux docs that we should be using middleware (not actions, reducers, selectors, or any other flux pattern files) (aside: Redux is based on the Flux pattern). Of course, Thunk is popular, but that doesn’t mean it’s a Good Thing ;).

1. Katello doesn’t follow Foreman’s structure; it doesn’t ensure storybooks are supported, despite using the stories directory to put all the stuff.