Foreman with smart-proxy + tftp (step by step)

Problem:

My name is Georgy Minashvili
I’m new to working with Foreman project, but i became a big fan after reading Foreman :: Introduction
I really want to implement this system at my work, especially foreman with smart-proxy + tftp. This is my dream =))

I started researching this question based on wonderful official documentation ( Foreman :: Manual ) and video ( Foreman - YouTube )
But I really miss more detailed examples or more detailed tutorials for implement foreman with smart-proxy + tftp
Unfortunately, there are no colleagues at work who know how Foreman works… I want to fix it )))

I ask the community to help the newbie and guide me on the right path:
Give advice in what order and what to learn or share deployment instructions “step by step”. I am ready to enroll in training courses (paid or free) if there are any =)

I would be glad to any advice, thanks for reading this <3

2 Likes

Hi Georgy,
It’s rather late here, so I’ll provide a few URLs you might find useful.
Regards,
Peter

I would suggest reading all of section 3.2.x in the following (searching for ‘tftp’ references amongst all the installation options) and read all of 3.2.3 (until the next major section):

https://www.theforeman.org/manuals/2.3/index.html#3.2.3InstallationScenarios

The Provision Guide as a whole is truly worth a read, but this link may be of more immediate assistance:

https://docs.theforeman.org/nightly/Provisioning_Guide/index-foreman-el.html#Configuring_Networking-Configuring_Network_Services_for_PXE_Boot

3 Likes

I thank you Peter!
I am starting to study, I hope I can achieve positive results =)

1 Like

Hi/gamarjoba @minashvili :slight_smile:

Welcome to the community!

You’re very welcome to ask any questions that you might have as a new user.