Getting Ansible callback to work on Katello

Problem: getting ansible callback to work

Hi, I’m Philip and I’m an absolute beginner. I’m trying to come to grips with Foreman/Katello and there’s one thing I would really like to achieve and that’s use of Ansible plugin in Foreman. I have read the documentation at: Foreman :: Plugin Manuals but I haven’t been able to make it work just yet.

I have Katello with Ansible installed and I attached a CentOS 7 node to it. I want to see the results of Ansible commands in my dashboard. I installed Ansible on my centOS host and edited ansible.cfg as per instructions, by adding callback_whitelist = foreman under [defaults] tag and a [callback foreman] section as seen in linked instructions at the end.

I ran a simple hello world ansible playbook and at first I got a warning about python requests module which I solved with yum install python-requests.

Now it says:
[WARNING]: FOREMAN_SSL_CERT /etc/foreman-proxy/ssl_cert.pem not found.
Disabling the Foreman callback plugin.
[WARNING]: FOREMAN_SSL_KEY /etc/foreman-proxy/ssl_key.pem not found. Disabling
the Foreman callback plugin.

and then executes the playbook.

Could you please help me sort this out?

Some additional information:

This is at the end of ansible.cfg on the centos host I would like to report results to Katello from

[callback_foreman]
url = ‘https://192.168.xxx.xxx’ (ip address since I haven’t sorted the DNS)
ssl_cert = /etc/foreman-proxy/ssl_cert.pem
ssl_key = /etc/foreman-proxy/ssl_key.pem
verify_certs = /etc/foreman-proxy/ssl_ca.pem

Hi and welcome :slight_smile:

I’ll need to know a few things before I try to guide you through this just so we don’t end up on a wild goose chase

I have Katello with Ansible installed

And by ansible you mean just the cli tool or the foreman_ansible plugin or both? How did you install it?

I installed Ansible on my centOS host