Organizing Large Amount of Subnets, Host Groups and Discovery Rules

Hello.

Let me apologize up front for this huge post…

I am still very new to Foreman. I’m continuing my proof-of-concept for an organization with roughly 8000 nodes which I would like to manage with Foreman.

Before diving into my exact question, let me give a quick summary of what my organization looks like:

• 1300 branch offices.
  • Each branch office has two subnets:
    • “Workstation-Net” - This includes a single Linux server for the branch and some Windows workstations (I only care about the server in this scenario).
    • “Kiosk-Net” - This subnet includes 3-5 kiosk-type systems running Linux.

I want to be able to use Foreman to provision both the branch server (in “Workstation-Net”) and the kiosk systems (in “Kiosk-Net”) for each branch.

Now I’m trying to understand how to organize this all in Foreman. Let me explain how I have things setup now in my lab environment.

I have two labs, which are modeled just like a branch office, with two subnets:

• Lab_01
  • Lab_02

Now because each lab has two subnets, I need to create a total or four subnets in Foreman:

• Lab_01_Workstation-Net_10.59.24.0/24
  • Lab_01_Kiosk-Net_10.59.152.0/27
  • Lab_02_Workstation-Net_10.59.118.0/24
  • Lab_02_Kiosk-Net_10.59.246.0/27

So my understanding is that when provisioning a system via discovery (and using auto-provision), I need to match up the discovered nodes with a host group. I now create four host groups, one for each subnet:

• Lab_01_Workstation-Net_HG
  • Lab_01_Kiosk-Net_HG
  • Lab_02_Workstation-Net_HG
  • Lab_02_Kiosk-Net_HG

Now, the way a “server” provisions is much different than how a “kiosk” would provision. So I create two separate kickstart provisioning templates, which are associated with their respective host groups:

• Server_Kickstart
    • Associated with “Lab_01_Workstation-Net_HG” and “Lab_02_Workstation-Net_HG”.
  • Kiosk_Kickstart