Use Katello to Deploy CentOS to External Networks

Hello,

Let me start with saying that I am very new to Foreman and Katello. However, I have a very specific use case which I’ve believe Foreman would be a good fit for.

The point of this post is to start with talking at a high-level what I want to use Foreman for. Hopefully the community can then give me their input if I’m going in the right direction.

So without any further delay, my scenario is this:

My company has many branch offices across the United States. Each of these branches has one central CentOS 7 server and then several kiosk-like systems that I want to install CentOS on.

OK, so that is what I want to accomplish at a high-level. Now my main obstacle is that the bandwidth into these branches is very poor. Due to this, I could not stand up a central provisioning server in the data center and build these systems over that kind of connection, it is just too slow.

This is where I believe Katello comes in. I can host Katello in the data center and deploy a SmartProxy to each of my branch servers. This will essentially prepare the branch servers with the following (but, not limited to):

• The CentOS installation media and repository.
  • Kickstart files.
  • TFTP daemon.
  • PXELINUX.
  • DHCP daemon.
  • Some kind of “discovery” mechanism and image.

With the above existing on my branch server, I can now PXE boot a kiosk on the branch network and build it within that local network, getting around my bandwidth limitations.

Do I essentially have that right? And if so, I’m having a hard time understanding how this all works on a lower level. Do you advise I just step through the documentation line-by-line?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

Your rough understanding is correct, except that kickstart files are retrieved from the central server. Here the Smart Proxy is really just a proxy.