Boltello - requesting feedback

Hello All,

I hope this post finds readers in the Foreman community healthy and well. These are challenging times, indeed.

I’m Gerard Ryan. As a long time community lurker – and occasional question-asker in IRC – I’d like to formally introduce myself. I’ve been developing with Puppet for 9 years and have followed Foreman development for nearly as long.

My post today announces a project I’ve tinkered wth over the years called “boltello”.

Boltello started out as a simple BASH script which used a collection of puppet modules to build the Master of Masters and shipped tarballs of proxy certificates around with SSH. Once certificates were generated and distributed, the script would then bootstrap each compile master to the MoM to receive its configuration. That solution developed into its own puppet module over time and when Bolt was first announced I realized I could accomplish more powerful and more controlled orchestration with ease. Bolt is agent-less, yet natively understands Puppet – it seemed like a great match.

I’m seeking community feedback on this project in its current state and any suggestions or critiques would be helpful!

https://github.com/superfantasticawesome/boltello

Thanks for reading my post!

My best,
Gerard

3 Likes

Hi Gerard,
First of all, welcome to the community.
We have a community demo tomorrow, would you like to come along and demo this / talk about this for a few minutes? Foreman Community Demo #85

1 Like

Hi and yes!
How do I join?

1 Like

Excellent!

Hit the edit button and add yourself to the demo:

New user, not sure if I’m able to edit that post… however, I’ll definitely be present!

Thanks @gerard.ryan I will add you to the agenda and DM you a meeting link in 2 mins.

Thanks for the demo today @gerard.ryan ! I enjoyed seeing what you have done with boltello, it’s a neat project and powerful tool for sure.

1 Like

Thank you WB, that’s encouraging!