Choosing which hosts are assigned application repositories

Problem:
I’m new to foreman and trying to set up some repos for my applications before we migrate to use foreman.
I have the Centos 7 repositories and product assigned to a content view. All hosts get this automatically when registering.
I’d like to be able to choose which hosts receive my application repositories. I have a product for each application and the repositories assigned to those products for their respective application. I can’t see a way to assign the product to a host.

Expected outcome:
I should be able to chose which hosts a product is assigned to when deploying my applications

Foreman and Proxy versions:
Foreman 3.3

Foreman and Proxy plugin versions:
Katello 4.5

Distribution and version:
Centos 7U9

Other relevant data:

1 Like

I think there are largely two ways of doing this (today, @jeremylenz is working on improving this flow and make it better composable):

• you can create individual content views (or composite content views), each containing centos + one of the app, and then assigning these to the hosts – this gives you very fine grained control over what the hosts will be able to receive, but it comes at a higher maintenance cost as you now have more views to manage
  • you can create multiple activation keys, which will have presets for the right repos to be enabled or disabled, while still referring to a single “all-in-one” contentview

Oh, and we have a Content Management Guide which talks about these topics in greater detail.

3 Likes

In Katello, custom products are always enabled by default (for now.)

On the activation key, you can visit the ‘Repository Sets’ tab and “override to disabled” all repositories you don’t want the hosts to have by default.

For already-registered hosts, you can also do this on the host’s details page (Hosts > All Hosts) or via bulk actions (Hosts > Content Hosts).

You may also want to check out

• composite content views