Contact information for Foreman?

Greetings,

I am a newbie to this forum and to Foreman.
I am interested in downloading and installing Foreman for use in my organization. However, there is an approval process that I need to go through, which involves our counsel reading through license agreements and contacting the company in order to approve software.
I am unable to provide (nor locate) any contact information to give our counsel. Therefore, I will unable to download and evaluate this software unless I have that information.
Would someone be able to help me out, or point me to the right information?
Thanks in advance!
Scottt
:slight_smile:

1 Like

I donā€™t think we have an explicit list. The RPM packages are your best bet since they donā€™t bundle and generally have correct license tags. They also place licenses in /usr/share/license. The big exception are the Javascript packages (which are generally just a disaster when it comes to packaging). Theyā€™re also a build dependency so theyā€™re harder to evaluate.

Iā€™m wondering if others do have a good suggestion.

Thanks for the reply, ekohl.
Iā€™m really looking for someone for our counsel to speak with if they have questions.

Hi Scott,

Given this is an open source community project there is not a company to contact for discussions. As mentioned, there are a number of involved sub-projects and dependencies with various open source licenses attached that can be assessed if that is what is required. The main project, Foreman, keeps a copy of the open source license here for example ā€“ https://github.com/theforeman/foreman/blob/develop/LICENSE

There are some companies that provide commercial support and licensing on their own licensing of the open source project.

There are a number of us that can help provide more information if you can provide specifics of what you need to use the open source project.

3 Likes

Eric, thanks for this information. I went looking for that yesterday and didnā€™t find it.