EPEL public repository to sync?

Problem:
I’ve inherited a very poorly/badly/non documented installation of foreman from an admin that has left.
Many of the configured products with external defined repositories do not sync. I’ve sorted most of them but I am stuck on epel for RHEL8.

I am learning on the hoof - I have no previous foreman experience. It is what it is…

The configured product "epel_x86-64 has two repositories defined within it
epel 7
epel8_x86-64 (no, I dont know why some commonality in naming wasn’t used either.)

epel 7 uses external repo Index of /pub/epel/7/x86_64
epel8_x86-64 uses external repo Index of /pub/epel/8/Everything/x86_64

epel7 syncs perfectly.
epel8_x86-64 sync thinks about it for some while then errors with “A sub task failed”.

Both setups are configured the same wrt type=yum, no restrictions on architecture, verify SSL is yes, defaults for yum metadata and http proxy (none!) etc etc.

there is a difference in GPG key : epel 7 has NO gpg key connected to it, while epel8 has a key … I have no knowledge of why it has one when 7 doesn’t or where the key it does have came from. If i try the sync with NO epel 8 gpg key configured it errors as above “A sub task failed”.

Expected outcome:
a correct setup so that this rhel8 epel product/repo syncs as expected and is safe to use

Foreman and Proxy versions:

Foreman and Proxy plugin versions:

System Information

Version 3.2.0 © 2009-2024 Paul Kelly and Ohad Levy

no idea where to find proxy version

Distribution and version:
no idea where to find that info

Other relevant data:
by all means provide pointers to any info that may help

Not sure if I can solve your problem, but at least I can give you some explanation and show you some errors.

So the URL for EPEL 8 seems to be correct, you can see this by the directory repodata on this level and it containing the metadata. You could try a mirror instead if problem persists.