Foreman and SP on the same host with dual network attachement (one private)

Hello,

This is my first post, here is some background before asking my questions :

I’m a member of a sysadmin team in charge of provisionning a CentOS Linux slurm scheduled HPC cluster of about 400 nodes.
We do the initial bootstrap (from PXE/iPXE to OS basic install, configuring IPMI in between) with xCAT and then configure/further install the OS using Ansible.

We used to use Cobbler before that and are now considering switching from xCAT to Foreman to perform the same operations. So we’re new to Formean.

I’ve played with a test installation I did from scratch on a vm using the foreman-installer, basically following the steps described in the quickstart guide and documentation.

So I decided to enable dhcp, tftp, dns and ansible smart proxies on the same host as the foreman server but since this host has a dual network attachement, one interface being linked to a public routable network, the other linked to a private non routable one on which the hosts to provision are, I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do.

What I’d like to achieve is to have foreman manage pxe, dhcp, dns, tfp for this private network.
I did create in the UI a subnet and a domain matching this network but the proxies are seen in the public network (i.e. with their public domain name).

Depending on if I use or not the --foreman-dhcp-gateway (to point to the private ip of the server host), I manage or not to tftp the pxe config file.
Then again, depending if I provide or not a “Gateway Address” in the subnet setting inside the UI I manage or not to get the kickstart file.

None of this makes sense since the host I try to provision does not need a gateway anyway. Obviously my setup is just bogus.

Here’s what I did:

• Host I installed Foreman and the Smart Proxies on :
[root@foreman hummel]# cat /etc/centos-release
CentOS Linux release 7.4.1708 (Core) 

[root@foreman hummel]# ip addr