Foreman in docker with salt plugins

Problem:
Hello Everyone! I’m a newbie in Foreman and trying to use Foreman for managing salt minions.
I run salt master in docker container and I’d like running Foreman in K8s too (from this repo https://github.com/ohadlevy/foreman-kube).

So, I tried multiple approaches to build this Foreman image:

1. Rebuild image adfter adding foreman_salt and foreman_smart_proxy_salt to Gemfile https://github.com/theforeman/foreman/blob/develop/Gemfile.
    I’ve error like constant Proxy is not associated. Found related issue on the forum which recommended to install plugins only with rpm or even with foreman-installer.
  2. I’m not sure if it is correct, I tried to build test image based on centos:7.8.2003 and installed all necessary rpms. AS CMD in this Dockerfile I added:
    CMD foreman-installer --enable-foreman-plugin-salt --enable-foreman-proxy-plugin-salt
    Note: I didn’t manage to add RUN foreman-installer --enable-foreman-plugin-salt --enable-foreman-proxy-plugin-salt as separate layer due to hostname conflicts.
    But running foreman-installer is too long operation amd it is inconvenient to use it as entrypoint in docker container.

Expected outcome:
Could you please advice what is recommended way to build foreman with salt plugins in docker?

And If I understand correctly I need install foreman_salt and foreman_smart_proxy_salt in container with Foreman and foreman_smart_proxy_salt in container with Salt master?

Thank you in advance!
And have a good day!

Foreman and Proxy versions:
Tested with 1.24 too

did you see https://github.com/theforeman/foreman/blob/develop/developer_docs/containers.asciidoc? you would need to rebuild the image with the gemfile for the plugin.

regarding the proxy, sadly i didn’t build the smart proxy image yet, but probably your approach with the installer would work (as a second container image vs bundling it into one larger image).