Foreman with 90,000 + hosts and Salt (no Katello/Pulp)

Hello all. Ive been using Foreman for a good 7-8 years and have deployed small instances of it at various shops. I’ve come across a new project that wants to replace their Salt API UI with Foreman (thanks to Broadcom buyout of VMware). They have around 90,000 nodes, globally. I have already implemented Foreman for their Linux patching (about 50% of above hosts), with Katello/Pulp.

However, now I need to work on replacing jobs/tasks for the same number of nodes. Out of the 90k nodes, they are split at about 5-7k nodes per saltmaster. Ill be able to utilize this to my advantage, but my main concern is how Foreman will handle these requests/jobs. So the focus here is Dynflow and Sidekiq. Just starting the planning phases of this architecture, I have some questions:

How many jobs and/or tasks can Foreman handle? Lets assume that I will have the following setup:
2 Foreman servers - Foreman UI/API and Foreman ENC/Reports. PostgresQL Active/Passive backend on a separate server. Should I also have a 3rd Foreman server to just handle jobs/tasks?

Originally I was going to set those up with memcache, but after researching more, it appears I want to setup redis for this, to keep them all in sync?

I imagine that there would be times where they are going to need to run something against all 90k nodes. How will Foreman/Dynflow/Sidekiq handle something like that? If we have 18-20 saltmasters, all running a Foreman Salt/Proxy, that certainly fixes any sort of bottleneck there, but I just cant comprehend how to setup the architecture for this on the job/task running/caching side of things.

Any ideas, thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated. Yes, I have read all the blog posts, links and sites about Foreman at scale. Very helpful!

Thanks!

1 Like

Would the other two instances be somehow tweaked to not run the dynflow/sidekiq services or would they be fully featured, as set up by the installer?