Getting started with bare-metal provisioning using Foreman

Problem: I’m very new to Foreman and wanting some guidance as to how to get a basic POC going with bare metal deployment.

I found this 3-year-old guide - https://www.linuxtechi.com/bare-metal-provisioning-through-foreman-server/ - which shows how to do the things I want to do! Unfortunately, it’s 3 years old and nothing from Step3 onwards appears to apply to modern Foreman.

I was able to use the Foreman Installer to spool up a test instance in VirtualBox and am keen to start trying things, but a little scared as I don’t know how to set up provisioning properly. The intent is for this Foreman install to be the “god” of its sandbox - providing DHCP/PXE to a bunch of VMs and thus being a proof-of-concept for later work (I want to use Foreman to stand up a HPC cluster).

Expected outcome:
I would love some advice and feedback - I’d be happy to turn it into a tutorial once I know what I’m doing so I can help other people in my position!

Foreman and Proxy versions:

Foreman and Proxy plugin versions:
Unsure

Other relevant data:
[e.g. logs from Foreman and/or the Proxy, modified templates, commands issued, etc]
(for logs, surround with three back-ticks to get proper formatting, e.g.)

logs

I found this comment on a blog:

“Install foreman using this command “sudo foreman-installer –enable-foreman-plugin-setup”. Apparently you need the plugin setup to have the provision setup tab.”

After running that command that missing tab shows up! Will have a go and report back here later…

Okay, I’m able to follow the wizard and use the foreman-installer commands it’s recommending, but it fail when I hit next:

*ArgumentError*
**wrong number of arguments (given 1, expected 0)**
/usr/share/foreman/app/models/provisioning_template.rb:153:in `build_pxe_default'
/usr/share/foreman/vendor/ruby/2.5.0/gems/foreman_setup-6.0.0/app/controllers/foreman_setup/provisioners_controller.rb:99:in `step4'