Having issue with foreman provisioning

was wondering if I could get some suggestions on the following problem.
I have taken over a system and the provisioning function does not work.
I hit the build button for a host, the button changes to cancel build.

I try to reboot and build the server but it does not pickup the pxe boot. I believe the certs are not getting passed but I’m unsure at this point were to look. I did note that the /etc/puppet/autosign.conf did not have the correct permissions set. the mode is now 644. The dose not appear to be getting update

I am pretty new to puppet and foreman so I would be grateful for any help given.

Welcome to the community! I’ve deleted the blank topic, I guess you created it by accident :slight_smile:

The provisioning workflow can be complex depending on your site config. In order, please check:

1. That the host has a provisioning interface set (Host > Edit)
  2. That the host has a Subnet set (Host > Edit)
  3. That the Subnet has a Smart Proxy set for TFTP (Subnet > Edit)
  4. That the Smart proxy has the TFTP feature (Proxies > Refresh Features > Check TFTP is still listed

If that all checks out, log on to the proxy and go to the TFTP dir (location varies by OS, usually in /var/lib or /srv), and look for a file named for the MAC address of the host’s provisioning interface. If you check the contents, and then flip the Build flag and check again, you should see the content change from LOCALBOOT to the netboot installer of the desired OS.

I’m guessing one of those steps won’t check out, and we can take it from there :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi thanks for the input. I checked the first three and thy check out. I’m not quite sure were to look for the last(4). I’m running version 1.16-1.e17.