Host password management in foreman (random passwords)

Currently i have to define the (root) password for a host. After this it is not possible anymore to see the password in the UI (or i have not found it yet).

I am missing a option to create a host with a random password and the possibility to read the (root) password of a host.

In my believe it’s bad practice to use the same password. Have the option to random generate it would improve that part. The downside is that you have to make the password accessible.

Maybe this is a bit part of taste. But i was wondering if this is already possible in foreman.

I believe @ananace’s plugin is intended to solve this but I have no personal experience with it.

Well, Foreman itself never stores any un-hashed passwords anywhere, except for the global setting. In fact the code ensures that any password written to database is done so in a hashed form.

My plugin is designed then to let an external password manager - in our case passwordstate - completely take over the generation and the storage of all those root/admin passwords, leaving Foreman with only API access to query the passwords as necessary.
The same design should work for other password storage systems as well, possibly even with Foreman itself doing the storage by using facets with encrypted fields - though I don’t really like the security implications of that.

Thanks for your insight ananace. Ill have a look at the plugin. Too bad passwordstate is not open source :smiley:

@ananace, I’m going to have to seriously look at your plugin. My client uses PasswordState, and I have a Perl script that uses the REST API to manage periodic password change requirements (400 hosts in a couple of minutes.)

I’m not familiar with Ruby, etc. Is all of the plugin administration controlled through Administration/Settings?