Provisioning puppet to otherwise fully provisioned compute resources server

Hi! I’m new to puppet and wondering if what I want can be done.

I’d like to import our digital ocean servers as hosts from the digitalocean compute resources, and then have these existing, already-provisioned ubuntu servers get puppet deployed to them so they can talk with our puppet master and get automatically configured.

But when I try to import the DO VM’s as Foreman Hosts, it seems it requires me to add provisioning templates related to OS setup, when the only provisioning I would need is the puppet setup. I know that if I manually setup puppet on the VM then Foreman will add it as a Host, but I was hoping Foreman would be the tool to let me automate this.

It seems like a simple use-case to me, so I’d guess I’m doing something wrong, or not quite understanding how all this works.

Thanks for any help!
Sebastian

Hello,
It looks like we don’t currently have this functionality. Imported VMs are created as managed hosts by default which requires OS etc. to be configured, but not I’m not sure if that’s actually a good default.
I agree this feature is definitely useful, I would expect the workflow after importing the VMs would be something like using remote execution to install puppet on the hosts? Sine right now puppet is set up as part of the provisioning process, if we don’t provision the hosts from inside Foreman there is no way to get it set up.
Please open a feature request on our redmine tracker: https://projects.theforeman.org

Thanks tbrisker!

Yes that would be the workflow, and it would be fantastic for our needs.

I’ve added the feature request over here: Feature #23692: Allow puppet provisioning on otherwise fully provisioned hosts - Foreman

There is another way…