Provisioning VMWare instances using existing VMDK/VMX files (Foreman 1.4.1)

I am pretty new to Foreman and Puppet. I have messed around with the UI and
have created my compute resources, but have not been able to find options
to use existing disks when creating a VM. I have exhausted all searches so
was hoping someone could help me here. We are creating VMDK/VMX files and
EC2 AMI files using Packer. Is there a way to provision VMWare instances
using existing disk files rather than having Foreman create the disk?

Thank you in advance!

-Todd

Some additional information for you. I followed further into that video
where you show the TFTP folders and the entries for the MAC address. I went
into that folder and found the file for the MAC address. The URL for the
foreman server in the file is valid. I went to it and was able to see the
entire PXE boot file. I am wondering if maybe my host is not getting a DHCP
ip address at boot. If it successfully pulls a DHCP IP will it show the IP
that it received?

··· On Friday, February 28, 2014 9:47:03 AM UTC-5, Todd Spayde wrote: > > I am pretty new to Foreman and Puppet. I have messed around with the UI > and have created my compute resources, but have not been able to find > options to use existing disks when creating a VM. I have exhausted all > searches so was hoping someone could help me here. We are creating VMDK/VMX > files and EC2 AMI files using Packer. Is there a way to provision VMWare > instances using existing disk files rather than having Foreman create the > disk? > > Thank you in advance! > > -Todd >

Not at the moment, but it's being worked on thanks to Rufus Post and I
hope will be included in Foreman 1.5. Currently the VMware support
assumes you build VMs over the network only.

https://github.com/theforeman/foreman/pull/1183