PXE boot problems

Ok, I’m a Foreman Newbie. I’ve googled around, read Documentation. I’m going to need some direction on this. I have a blank VM setup, with network as #1, HDD as #2 for boot order.

right now i’m just attempting to kickstart another alma 8.9 instance on the blank VM

Problem:
Errors attempting to PXE boot

Expected outcome:
successfully pxe boot and install an OS.

Foreman and Proxy versions:
foreman: 3.10.0

Foreman and Proxy plugin versions:
Discovery: 24.0.1
Fog_proxmox: 0.15.0
Puppet: 6.2.0
Foreman_setup: 8.0.1

Distribution and version:

Other relevant data:
Proxmox

1. PF Sense: VM handling firewall
  2. Alma 9 Desktop VM: for web-gui config stuff
  3. Alma 8.9 (VM: Foreman server): feature set: DHCP, Puppet CA, DNS, TFTP, HTTPBoot, Logs, Puppet
  4. Blank VM: for test booting

Did you define a /boot/efi partition?

cmstjohn01, chances are pretty good, that I have not done that yet.
So, in defining the /boot/efi partition. Are you referring to the partition table template in foreman?

the test VM in proxmox has just a blank Disk setup size= 32G + EFI Disk size= 4M.

If you are using UEFI firmware then you will need a /boot/efi partition setup otherwise it will not boot. See this article: partitioning - EFI Partition vs /boot partition - Super User.

On my Foreman server I created a partition table under Hosts > Templates > Partition Tables which creates both /boot and /boot/efi.

ok. let me list the settings as I understand the process.
I changed the line 47 in the UEFI partition table, but it doesn’t seem to have made a difference.
let me know if I’m missing anything, or should change anything

Hosts -
- Templates
     - - Provisioning Templates
            * [Kickstart default PXELinux] (selected)
                OS Association: Alma Linux 8.9
                Host group: Provision from smart proxy selected
             * [Kickstart default PXEGrub2] (Selected)
                 OS Association: Alma Linux 8.9
      - - Partition table