Rake reports cleanup task slowness fix

Hello,

I’ll preface this by saying I’m not a ruby developer :slight_smile:

I’ve seen quite a number of bug reports surrounding how slow the rake task that cleans up the various tables related to reports can get when run. We have a large deployment and hit this issue every time the rake task runs.

The first task takes approximately 15 minutes to run

/usr/sbin/foreman-rake reports:expire days=1 status=0

And this task takes anywhere from 3-8 hours depending on DB load, and around 12 hours for the database slaves to eventually catch up.

/usr/sbin/foreman-rake reports:expire days=7

I’ve started to dig into the queries that this task invokes, the first of which is:

DELETE FROM `logs` WHERE `logs`.`report_id` IN (SELECT `reports`.`id` FROM `reports`  WHERE (reports.created_at < '2018-01-10 10:35:40' and reports.status = 0));

So I set to trying to optimize this delete. This gist has my result set:

In this instance, I was running the query against a new slave we set up, which is sitting on vmware architecture backed by a blade chassis and a 3par san. So performance isn’t an issue.

As you can see, the initial run of the query (after flushing all the caches) took 2 min 43.62 sec to return 506 rows. It required a full table scan, and it hit the disk for ~6gb of read ops.

After recrafting the query to use an inner join (https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.7/en/delete.html) to build the delete set, we see the query drop to 1.85 seconds with 506 rows and 165mb of disk read ops.

I was planning on submitting a PR, but, it appears that ruby doesn’t actually support delete joins in active records, so as far as I can tell, it would require direct sql execution to put this fix in place.

Is this something that would be acceptable, and equally, can I get some thoughts and opinions on this fix, as I intend to patch our own installation either way :slight_smile:

Thanks!
Amy

2 Likes

Thank you for the input and profiling!