Some direction/advice on setting up pxe boot with Foreman

Problem:
I am new to Foreman and my Linux experience is mid-level at best, I used to be very involved in Linux, and for a long time now I have been away from Linux, but it coming back into my job description.

In any event I want to use Foreman as a pxe boot server to deploy bare metal images and also pxe boot stuff in our VMware environment. Can you point me in the direction with either some user guides or some directions for Linux novices on installing tftp, dhcp, etc. to properly get Foreman up and running to receive network boot connections to run from installation media, iso’s. etc?

Thank you.

Hi @lbetson and welcome to the fore-um!

The case you describe is luckily fairly “vanilla” thanks to the “foreman-installer” (I didn’t really realize this at first, but this puppy installs and configures all the ingredients needed for doing a PXE set-up; at least, as long as you don’t immediatelly start with more complex set-ups with external servers etc.). I’d recommend (manually) creating a VM, installing CentOS and then follow the steps documented on the following link (but, in the drop down you’ll have to select “CentOS” first):
https://theforeman.org/manuals/1.20/index.html#2.1Installation

After you’ve installed all required packages, at some point you’ll be asked to run “foreman-installer”; I’d recommend running this in interactive mode, by passing the “-i” parameter. This will give you a menu from which you can configure A LOT… REALLY.

The settings that you really want to look out for, are the DHCP and DNS settings, which are under the “foreman-proxy” menus. Looking at my notes, these are:

dhcp: **true**
  dhcp_listen_on: https
  dhcp_managed: true
  dhcp_provider: isc
  dhcp_subnets: []
  dhcp_option_domain: [ **<your domain here>** ]
  dhcp_search_domains: 
  dhcp_interface: **eth0**
  dhcp_additional_interfaces: []
  dhcp_gateway: **< your gateway here >**