Spacewalk User new to Foreman

Hi Guys,

I am new to Foreman. I have been using Spacewalk for my Linux infra to keep track of the number of systems and applying security patches. As I search spacewalk alternative I see foreman on the top of the list. I was able to deploy the foreman and bring up the Web UI. It looks quite different compare to Spacewalk. I am looking for some basic guideline:

- Does "Hosts" means in Foreman the same as "Systems" in spacewalk
- How do I add a Client different Linux distro to Foreman
- How do I setup Channels/Repos

Please share any link or document that would help to get me up to speed :slight_smile:

Thank you

1 Like

Yes and no, the content host is nearly the same and the host is provisioning and configuration management view of the system which is as similar as possibly if the tooling differs widely for this part.

The subscription-manager is available for different distros so this should be the same, but this brings me to your third question as registering is only one side and you need a product too.

In Katello you have Product which is a group of repositories, repositories which can be yum but also deb and some other types and you have content views which are for doing a snapshot of content and grouping products/repositories (so the object most similar to channels) and life cycle environments to stage the content view version from development over testing to production (or how you want to name it).

Best is having a look at the docs, so the content management guide is perhaps the most important for you: Content Management Guide

2 Likes

Regarding clients:

You basically sync and manage those clients as you handle any other content. When provisioning a host, for example Ubuntu 20.04 where there is no subscription-manager available in its base repos, you need to provide this repo at time of installation. For more information, see Managing Hosts running Ubuntu 20.04.

Thanks guys for your quick response.