Upgrade OS from debian 9 to 10

Hello,

I tried to upgrade my foreman server from debian 9 to 10. I didn’t get any error on the os side, but after upgrade foreman app was crashing returning web page error. It seems that the passenger app was crashing.

I’m running foreman 1.24.2 I know it is old, after os upgrade I’ll upgrade to supported version.

I was wondering is there any special steps to take care for OS side upgrade ?

Best regards

I have no experience with Foreman on Debian, but have you tried running foreman-installer again after the OS upgrade? I would assume some things changed from 9 to 10, and foreman-installer might be able to get you back up to a working configuration.

Hello,

indeed I run the command, but it somehow failed because during the upgrade process I was still suing postgresql 9.6 on debian 10. Maybe when I’m on debian 10 foreman require a postgresql 11 ? I found this weird because the foreman application doesn’t get upgraded.

Could you share the errors from foreman-installer and from when you try to start foreman? Maybe we can find some hints in there on where to start.

Foreman-installer failed because it expect postgresql 11 on debian 10.
I’ll copy the VM and run the upgrade again and provide the logs / error. Probably next week.

Thanks !

Hello,

I just deployed a copy of the VM.
After upgrade to debian 10 and staying with postgresql 9.6 I got in error.log file :

App 2153 stdout:
[ 2021-09-27 16:50:11.0089 861/7f18dc349700 age/Cor/App/Implementation.cpp:304 ]: Could not spawn process for application /usr/share/foreman: An error occured while starting the web application.
  Error ID: c3038faf
  Error details saved to: /tmp/passenger-error-WyFwlS.html
  Message from application: Did not recognize your adapter specification (cannot load such file -- oj/oj). (MultiJson::AdapterError)
  /usr/share/foreman/vendor/ruby/2.3.0/gems/activesupport-5.2.1/lib/active_support/dependencies.rb:287:in `require'