Synced Content greyed out

Hello,

How do you activate “Synced Content” as install media for certain “operating systems”?
For me it only works with “CentOS 7” as operating system, but with the same config it does not work for “CentOS 7.6.1810” as operating system. I don’t have a clue where to look for the problem.
How do you map a Content Source to a operating system and make the synced content available?

Best Regards
Mario

Hi,

I have no experience with CentOS, but with RHEL you have to Sync the kickstart repository for that specific version and then add that to your content view.
After promoting the CV it should be accessible via “Synced Content”.

Greetings

1 Like

I’ve synced http://mirror.centos.org/centos/7.6.1810/os/x86_64/ for Centos 7.6 and http://mirror.centos.org/centos/7/os/x86_64 for Centos 7.
It works for Centos 7, but not for 7.6.

Hm, weird…
If they are both part of your selected CV, that should be everything you have to do. If that’s not the case, I would suggest opening a bug report over at redmine.
Sounds like a bug to me.

Do you have selected “Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 Server Kickstart x86_64 7.6” ?

1 Like

You really need to sync RHEL Kickstart repository, the original. CentOS will not work, even if it is really a repo with kickstart files it does not contain the important .treeinfo file with some details that Pulp/Katello needs to identify it as a “Kickstart” repository I think. @Justin_Sherrill should know better I might be wrong.

Then why does it work with the Centos 7 repo?

Now Justing will know better (or you can ask at the Pulp Project) but I think it’s because the missing .treeinfo file which is only on Red Hat CDN. Or maybe this information is stored in the subscription data, there are no subscriptions for CentOS.

This would be a nice feature to have indeed for CentOS.

It actually DOES work for Centos! …but only with Centos 7, not with Centos 7.6.